Assiut University

Assiut University is a public university in Asyut, Egypt. The University was established in 1957 to encourage research, education and community services in Upper Egypt. It is located in Assiut City, 375 km south of Cairo. The University comprises sixteen faculties and two higher institutes. The faculties are those of: Science, Engineering, Agriculture, Medicine, Pharmacy, Veterinary Medicine, Commerce, Education, Law, Physical Education, Social Work, Arts, Nursing, Specific Education, Computer and Information Sciences and finally the faculty of Education in the New Valley Governorate. The two higher Institutes are those of Sugar Technology Research and South Egypt Cancer Institute. Languages of Instruction are Arabic and English. Admission requirements for the undergraduate level are the Egyptian Secondary School certificate or its equivalent, student's place of residence and the regulating decrees of the Supreme Council of the Egyptian Universities. The university provides over 200 undergraduate and graduate degree programs in Art, Engineering, Medicine, Science, Technology and many others. Many academic centers are also affiliated to AU to serve specific, goal-directed functions. Large number of students and staff members are accommodated within the university campus. Two other universities emerged from Assiut University's flagship campus and are now independent universities: El-Minia University and South Valley University.

Average rating
(0 votes)